Summer Staycation 2015 Stop #3: Crazy Horse Volksmarch

Normally, unless a person gives at least $125 to the Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation, the closest one can get to Crazy Horse’s nostrils is the bottom of the mountain.

Twice a year, the Memorial offers the “volks” a chance to “march” to Crazy Horse’s arm and stand face to face with his giant head. I was nervous about the 6-mile walk, but decided I could not afford to miss it.

June 6 was a beautiful day. At the end of a lot of whining and complaining, I was rewarded with this rare view, if “rare” is interpreted as attending an event with upwards of 1200 reviews on TripAdvisor.

ch big profile

Now that I have done it, I will have to feel extremely motivated and the weather will have to be good before I’ll consider doing it again.

The photo below was the one I contributed to NatGeoYourShot, where, at 23, it has received more favorite points than anything I’ve ever posted anywhere, ever.

volks nat geo my shot

Readers can view some selfies on Facebook.

Stay tuned for more from the Sandhills/Panhandle/Black Hills.

Leave a Reply

