What Again?

I’m taking a break from my Staycation series to write an assignment for #Blogging101.

I first heard about SMART goals in Clark County School District (NV). We use them in my current position, as well. The goals are SMART because they are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant (some say Realistic, but I think that’s Redundant because it’s a synonym for “attainable,”), and Time-Bound. I originally started this post with the intention of creating some SMART goals for this blog, but then I realized that the blog’s goals are calendared out within the Drafts page, and they are not interesting unless one is researching the process of creating calendars and lists.

So I’ll revisit what I’m here for.

The overarching concept of this blog is exploration, meaning geography in a philosophical and personal sense. Although I blog about locations that can be found with GPS, I also contend that exploration can encompass our inner landscapes and involve deep contemplation of the places we consider our homes.

I am not alone in my endeavor. I am inspired by GeoPickMeUp, The Wannabe, The Brave Project, and most recently, Theraputic Journal Writing.

If I may return to my staycation for a moment, I’d like to explain how I found Theraputic Journal Writing. I was scrolling down my twitter feed and clicked on a post from NaNoWriMo, since I participate about every other year. The post included a link to a site about bibliotherapy, which led to journal therapy, which led me northward on I-25 to the workshop. Even though my audience is mostly limited to family and a few close friends, I maintain a public presence because, frankly…I’ve found amazing things from going down the rabbit hole of internet. So might someone else, and they might find me!

#Blogging101 comes with all sorts of daily prompts and questions. One of the prompts for this first assignment was, “If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?”

I must say that even though I would like to have as many followers as Miles Jai has on YouTube, I believe I’ve been blogging successfully for many years. My goals have been SMART, and they haven’t changed much except during that 1.5 year period when I was chronicling the disaster hysteria of Impending Apocalypse 2012 and participating in it. Long before that, back in the MySpace days, I posted a Daily Fortune Cookie.

Recently, my friend the poet Oren Wagner posted a photo on my Facebook page of a fortune that reads, “Not having a goal is more to be feared than not reaching one.”

My SMART goals now remain to travel every chance I get, to see and do as much as possible in the time that I have, and to share my diverse experiences with whoever will listen, and even some people who won’t.

If you happen to see this, thank you for accompanying me on this part of the journey.

Silly Rabbit.

One thought on “What Again?

Leave a Reply

