Read Me Up Challenge

A few things happened that discouraged me from posting my intended content on this blog:

  1. In an experiment for #Blogging101, I embedded a video of the night blast at Crazy Horse from my phone. I also posted the video on Facebook. Since the video was safely on the internet, I deleted it from my phone, at which point it disappeared from this blog. Old people and technology…smh! If interested, see if you can find it here. Good luck.
  2. The sun set too early, and I wasn’t able to get a good photo for my airline review of Boutique Air. That’s coming soon.
  3. I’m working more, again, on trying to win glory for myself and for my team. This past week, one term ended, a new one started, I had an operational visit from my boss, a meeting with my SEVP field rep, an alumni hour to host, and a cat to sit. All of these things generate future blog fodder but don’t lend themselves to current posts.

I’m about to go on a vacation. Remember that a vacation requires taking PTO (paid time off) and going someplace cool. In accordance with this month’s Monthly Travels Challenge, I would like to share with you a little book I bought on October 30, 2009.

yosemite meditations

Frye. It’s photographs by Michael Frye. The photos of Yosemite are overlayed with quotes about nature and National Parks. I bookmarked one to share with you. In the immortal words of Ansel Adams, who spent a good amount of time photographing Yosemite, “Yosemite Valley, to me, is always a sunrise, a glitter of green and golden wonder in a vast edifice of stone and space.”

Indeed. Since before we ever left that valley six years ago, my friend and traveling companion Miss Gokey and I resolved that we would triumphantly return. Given that we are headed into the National Park Service’s Centennial Year (2016), it is appropriate that now is the time.

Everyone that knows me knows that I love books and bookstores.

I love Walden and A Moveable Feast. I love On the Road and A Walk in the Woods and the Tattered Cover bookstore in Denver. I even love the first textbook from the first college class that I ever walked into, Conformity and Conflict. That’s a lot of love.

But sometimes, it is time to put the book down and walk through Yosemite. Next week, I am off to #FindMyPark.

What’s your park?

Thanks for reading.

One thought on “Read Me Up Challenge

  1. Sorry to hear about your loss. 😉
    I love books. And parks. I had written once on the blog about my favourite parks in Warsaw. It’s interesting to not that what is “park” is different in various countries. In Japan “koen” (translated as park) was already what I’d call “green” in Poland – just a bit of grass, some trees and a bench or two. I have wrote about books too.
    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

