2015 in Review

Last New Year’s Eve, my BFF Jodi and her son Alex braved the elements to drive across the icy country from Indiana to Nebraska to celebrate the turning of the annual odometer. We brought Dana into our party via Skype, and Dana reminded me of the Pinterest project I had mentioned at the beginning of 2014: “Starting on January 1st, write down good things that happened to you on little pieces of paper and put them in a jar. Then, on December 31st, open the jar and see all the good things that happened to you during the year.”

On December 31, 2014, Dana was prepared with a jar, but I was not.

I am this year, though.

jar of good

This jar with the broken lid comes from one of Sondra Appleton’s now-defunct Mia Bath and Body products.

Instead of writing things on slips, I shoved paper souvenirs into the jar. Let’s open it up and see what’s in there.

THE MAP of Cheyenne Wyoming

High Roller Las Vegas ticket stub

Old Courthouse Museum Siouxland Heritage Museum pamphlet

Black Hills Volksport “I Walked Crazy Horse” stub

Post Card Secrets Frank Warren ticket stub

Crazy Horse Memorial carload ticket stub

Rocky Mountain National Park receipt

LeiterLooker geocaching wooden nickel

Thank you card from my assistant Ethan and his bride Kellie for their wedding gift

Jean-Michel Cousteau ticket stub

Visit Sioux Falls events . com business card

Yosemite Valley shuttle map

NaNoWriMo bracelet

Fort York wristband

Wind Cave National Park tour receipt

Rocky Mountain National park Beaver Meadows Visitor Center cancellation stamp

Not a bad year, if I do say so myself. Thank you for sharing all these memories with me.

Now all of those tidbits will go into a girl scout cookie box labeled 2015, and I’ll fill the jar up again starting with anything I accumulate during Christmas vacation, all the way up to this time in 2016.

What were some of the good things that happened to you this year?

Leave a Reply

