Resolved: the 2017 version

I made a bitmoji of myself today, with Alex’s help.

Yesterday at midnight, we did a Happy New Year toast here at Dana’s house, because Dana has to work tomorrow and Jodi has to work on Monday. So, we put 2016 (which we had named the Year of Triumph because we aren’t psychic) to bed 24 hours early, and we have already been living in 2017 before the rest of you.

So, before too much more time passes, I’ll set a few SMART goals for the next 365 days.

But first, let’s check in with last year’s ideas.

Bullet 1: ha! Math? What’s that? I still have the workbook, but it isn’t resolution worthy.

Bullet 2 (doing something else while watching tv): Meh. I’ll rate myself 5/10, which is a technical fail, but I was better than in 2015.

Bullet 3: I think I succeeded. Six places I had never been: Monterey, CA; Grand Junction, CO; Moab, UT; Ouray, CO; Glenwood Springs, CO; and Grand Mesa National Forest. That’s six. Can I make it to 12? I also went for the first time to Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Rabbit Valley on the CO/UT line, BYU and Provo, and… … more than one Grand Junction Rockies game.

Due to doing such a good job on that resolution, I’ll take it down a notch next year and

  • Visit three places I haven’t been to before.

I will also

  • Beat my number of 2015 geocaching finds. Yes, 2015. I found more then than in 2016.
  • Finish a knitting project.
  • Get 10 rejection letters. (Before you think I am aiming too low, I got that idea from this article.)

There. See why these goals are SMART? They are specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time bound.

I have one more bullet than I had last year, but not too many. And of course, to those we add our perennial goals of being mindful and healthy and happy.

Update: the odometer has officially turned, and we have named 2017 The Unbelievable Year. Wish us luck!

What are your resolutions?

One thought on “Resolved: the 2017 version

  1. What a fabulous way to begin 2017. I can’t wait to see the outcome of this year, it’s going to be a great one! Keep reading, writing and having fun!

Leave a Reply

